Old School Dungeon Mapping

Below is the first snippet of the first level of the dungeon called Grimrock. If you’re unfamiliar with the newly released game Legend of Grimrock, then head on over to http://www.grimrock.net/blog/ for official details.

Grimrock Level 1 in progress
I’m gonna need a lot more graph paper…

I’m currently running the game in “old-school mode” which turns of the auto-mapper and forced the player to map each and every nook and cranny by hand. I feel as if I’ve been instantly transported to the mid-nineties, playing games like Eye of the Beholder, Dungeon Master, Menzoberranzan, etc.

I’ll save a proper review for those that have actually finished the game…like the kids over at Rock, Paper, Shotgun.

For now, I’m just basking in the glow of my computer monitor, mouse in one hand, pad of graph paper in the other.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Old School Dungeon Mapping

  1. Chaelura says:

    WOW, this is awesome. Definitely been looking forward to playing this game! (My list of games to play is just crazy long now >_< )

Leave a comment